Heartbleed 很可能一直是最严重的安全漏洞之一。更糟糕的是,带来 Heartbleed 的常用 OpenSSL 库的版本已被广泛使用了两年多,这意味着该漏洞已在整个 Internet 中广泛传播。

在这过去的两年中,知道 Heartbleed 的存在的所有攻击者都可能已使用简单且难以追踪的邮件从易受攻击的服务器中检索内存值,这使得形势愈发严峻。

 

图 1:Heartbleed 探测


图 1:Heartbleed 探测

 

受到危害的资产可能包括 SSL 私钥、用户密码和其他高度敏感的信息。有关漏洞本身的技术分析,请参见此处此处此处

简而言之,Heartbleed 非常接近于最糟糕的情况。

好消息

 

heartbleed 缓解

我们从 F5 Networks 得到了一个好消息:如果 F5 BIG-IP 应用交付控制器 (ADC) 在最近两年一直在交付您的 HTTPS 应用,那么该应用就不易受到 Heartbleed 的攻击。* 我们仍需要代表 F5 客户和其他人完成一些工作,但我们正开始过渡到后 Heartbleed 时代 - 包括直接对策和后续步骤。

 

Internet 影响分析

宣布 Heartbleed 漏洞之后,Netcraft 基于威胁表面的关键参数进行了分析。他们的分析表明,现在陷入 Heartbleed 风险中的站点的数量约占所有 SSL 站点的 15%。即五十多万个私钥受到侵害。

当然,不同的 SSL 密钥具有不同的保护级别,具体取决于其值。例如,网上银行网站的私钥的安全性就比新闻聚合器的私钥的安全性更重要。根证书颁发机构密钥是世界上最有价值的密钥。

那么谁容易受到攻击呢?

最初的 Heartbleed 声明指出了哪些网站可能是安全的,哪些可能是不安全的。

 

“幸运的是,许多大型消费者网站由于保守地选择 SSL/TLS 终端设备和软件而幸免于难。具有讽刺意味的是,更小、更先进的服务或那些已升级到最新最好的加密技术的人受到的影响却最大。”
- Heartbleed 研究人员

 

找出哪些网站可能最容易受到攻击非常简单:使用最新版本的开源软件服务器(如 Apache 和 NGINX)的网站。根据 Heartbleed 声明中的信息、Netcraft 分析以及 F5 与数百个 SSL 客户的接触情况,可以将这些网站和大多数其他网站划分到以下风险类别中。

 

可能的 Heartbleed 风险 原因
金融 较低 使用了 FIPS 140-2 crypto-HSM
国防 较低 使用了 FIPS 140-2 crypto-HSM
SLED 中等 很多较旧的非 Linux 的系统
电子商务 中等 参见下面的 F5 状态
Web 2.0 可能使用受影响的 OpenSSL 库
很可能使用受影响的 OpenSSL 库

图 2:SSL 站点垂直通常处于风险中

 

F5 ADC 是一个 Heartbleed 对策

让我们看一下好消息。有三种方法可将 F5 BIG-IP 设备或软件用作 Heartbleed 的对策。

第一种:普通的 SSL 配置文件已经能阻止 Heartbleed

第一个防御方式是通过 BIG-IP 平台的 SSL 配置文件的本机 SSL 终结功能。大多数使用 BIG-IP 本地流量管理器 (LTM) 为其应用终止 SSL 的网站已经得到针对 Heartbleed 的保护。这是因为 F5 流量管理微核中的主要 SSL 引擎是我们的进行了高度优化的手动编写的代码。因此,当 F5 平台代表一组服务器终止 SSL 时,它就已向应用提供了必要的保护。这些应用正是 Heartbleed 研究人员提到没有漏洞的“幸运的消费者网站”时所指的应用 - 这些网站的业务依赖于应用正常运行时间以及为获得容量和进行配置而对 SSL 终结设备投资的人(阅读:SSL 终结负载均衡器)。

 

图 3:BIG-IP LTM 如何防御 Heartbleed

图 3:BIG-IP LTM 如何防御 Heartbleed

 

第二种:硬件安全模块提供加密边界

可能最安全的 SSL 密钥是金融业、国防业和证书颁发机构的高价值密钥。这些组织经常将其密钥存放在名为硬件安全模块 (HSM) 的 FIPS-140 3 级加密边界中,此模块可保护密钥免受内存破解工具的侵害。很多此类组织将 ADC 与集成的 HSM 一起使用。

 

图 4:网络 HSM 体系结构

图 4:网络 HSM 体系结构

 

有趣的是,这里有一个全新的网络 HSM 体系结构,其中的 SSL 密钥存储在集中管理的 FIPS 140 加密存储区中。ADC 将要求这些设备解密 SSL 会话密钥,但随后会执行 SSL 会话加密本身的剩余部分。

第三种:F5 iRules 保护其余部分

F5 ADC 拥有其他 ADC 没有的一个功能:一种完全可编程的数据层面脚本语言。此语言称为 iRules,它受到由 100,000 多个活跃用户组成的 F5 DevCentral 开发社区的支持。

对于不能采用上面所述的两个更方便的 SSL 终结解决方案的其中一个的组织,第三个选择是使用 iRules 来提供缓解 - 无需解密 SSL 连接本身。

基于 iRules 的防御可能有意义的情况包括:

  • 具有将私钥限制为原始服务器主机的安全策略的一组服务器。
  • 多租户 SSL 站点(使用 SNI 和其他密钥)的进入点。
  • 位于一组虚拟化的 SSL 站点前面的虚拟 ADC。

针对这些情况,F5 编写了两个 iRule 来缓解 Heartbleed 漏洞。问题空间是避免误报、保证性能和确保安全的巧妙组合,在无法检查纯文本的单个规则中,它们都必须是平衡的。

第一个 iRule 阻止客户端发送 heartbeat 请求的任何尝试。由于只有很少的合法客户端会发送 heartbeat,此 iRule 将阻止任何恶意客户端并防止攻击到达位于 BIG-IP 后面的服务器。

第二个 iRule 将阻止服务器发送可能包含服务器的内存部分的任何大型 heartbeat 响应。

如果这两个 iRule 都无法满足要求,那么组织可以自行开发。这种事每天都会发生。这就是 iRules 和 DevCentral 社区的力量。

云怎么样?

领悟力强的读者可能已经意识到云计算有自己的 Heartbleed 威胁配置文件。确实是这样,并且威胁的强度因特定的云部署情况而异。

 

典型的 LAMP 云网站:典型的云网站包含运行 Apache、MySQL 和 PhP(通常称为 LAMP 的一个组合)的 Linux 分布的实例。假定采用云是一个较近出现的与两年前的 Heartbleed 漏洞的引入重叠的现象,那么这些云 LAMP 网站将引发最高风险。

使用 F5 ADC 硬件的云:很多 F5 客户使用我们的硬件平台来处理其云实例。他们使用可合并 TCP 连接、缓存通用对象并免除成本高昂的硬件加密操作的 F5 ADC 显著提高了密度。在 F5 终止 SSL 的情况下,这些客户已受到保护。如果您是这些客户中的一个,您就只需确保没有虚拟服务器在未事先对 HTTPS 进行解密的情况下通过它。(见下文)。

F5 虚拟 ADC:在完全虚拟化的云中,甚至连 F5 模块也是虚拟实例。在没有进行基础加密硬件卸载的情况下,让 F5 模块对 HTTPS 服务器终止 SSL 的必要性可能更小。因此,此时的 Heartbleed 风险高于使用前面的情况中的硬件部署时的风险。但是,F5 平台仍可以提供保护,因为虚拟 ADC 的本机 SSL 堆栈的软件实现也不易受到 Heartbleed 的攻击,因此提供了一层防御。

后续步骤

现有 F5 客户基本上可以阅读 单一解决方案来仔细检查 F5 设备的运行状况,并了解到它们不仅现在安全,而且其应用在过去两年中一直不受 Heartbleed 的威胁,从而让您高枕无忧。如果您需要帮助,请单击联系 F5 来联系您的 F5 客户代表。

如果您对 F5 不熟悉,我们欢迎您联系 F5 来了解如何保护您的企业免受当前和将来的威胁的侵害。

联系 F5

 

结论

美国计算机科学家 Gerald Weinberg 曾说过,“如果建筑工人用程序员编写程序的方式建造房屋,那么只要一只啄木鸟就能将建筑破坏掉。”

Heartbleed 就是这些啄木鸟中的一只。

好消息是,F5 BIG-IP 设备和虚拟实例已广泛应用于 Internet 中,而 Internet 可以保护它们为之服务的 HTTPS 应用。管理员可以验证该防御措施,然后与其安全团队合作,以便按自己的速度升级系统。对于没有获得保护的人,只需调用 F5 或 F5 试用版即可。

 

 

*如果您正在 LTM 上执行 SSL 终结,那么您是受到保护的,除非您因为在 11.5.0 或 11.5.1 上将默认密码更改为 COMPAT 而离开了安全的 F5 SSL 堆栈。我们已确定,此做法只会影响非常少的一部分 F5 客户。

如果您正在使用 11.5.0 或 11.5.1 并将您的管理界面暴露于 Internet 中,那么您将容易受到攻击。OpenSSL 1.0.1 用于 BIG-IP 管理界面。F5 不推荐此配置。

是否对 OpenSSL Heartbleed 有疑问?询问 F5 社区。

 

 

F5 Networks 已验证其所有客户可访问的网站不会受 OpenSSL 漏洞(称为 Heartbleed)的攻击。访问和/或登录到任何 F5 Web 财产的访客完全可以相信他们的在线活动是安全的

虽然无需执行特定操作,但 F5 想借此机会建议所有用户遵循通用的最佳实践操作来定期重置密码。

400 991 8366

Heartbleed is likely one of the worst security vulnerabilities of all time. Worse, the versions of the popular OpenSSL library that make Heartbleed possible have been widely available for more than two years, meaning that the vulnerability has spread widely throughout the Internet.

Worse still, for those last two years, any attackers aware of Heartbleed’s existence could have used simple, untraceable messages to retrieve memory values from vulnerable servers.

 

Figure 1: A Heartbleed probe


Figure 1: A Heartbleed probe

 

Compromised assets could have included SSL private keys, user passwords, and other highly sensitive information. See here and here and here for more technical analysis of the vulnerability itself.

Put simply, Heartbleed is very close to a worst-case scenario.

The good news

 

heartbleed mitigation

The good news from F5 Networks is that if an F5 BIG-IP Application Delivery Controller (ADC) has been delivering your HTTPS application for the last two years, that application was not vulnerable to Heartbleed.* There’s still work that needs to be done on behalf of F5 customers and others, but we’re beginning the transition to the post-Heartbleed world—including immediate countermeasures and next steps.

 

Internet Impact Analysis

After the Heartbleed vulnerability was announced, Netcraft performed an analysis based on key parameters of the threat surface. Their analysis suggests that the exposure to Heartbleed today is around 15 percent of all SSL sites. That is over a half million private keys.

Of course, different SSL keys have different levels of protection based on their values. The security of an online banking site’s private key is more significant than, say, that of a news aggregator’s private key. Root certificate authority keys are the most prized in the world.

So who is vulnerable?

The initial Heartbleed announcement indicated which sites are likely safe and which are not.

 

"Fortunately many large consumer sites are saved by their conservative choice of SSL/TLS termination equipment and software. Ironically smaller and more progressive services or those who have upgraded to latest and best encryption will be affected most."
–Heartbleed researchers

 

It’s pretty simple to figure out which sites will likely be the most vulnerable: those using recent versions of open-source software servers (such as Apache and NGINX). Those sites and most others can be grouped into the following risk categories based on the information in the Heartbleed announcement, the Netcraft analysis, and F5’s engagement with hundreds of SSL customers.

 

Group Likely Heartbleed Risk Why?
Financial Lower Use of FIPS 140-2 crypto-HSMs
Defense Lower Use of FIPS 140-2 crypto-HSMs
SLED Medium Lots of older, non-Linux systems
eCommerce Medium See F5 status below
Web 2.0 High Likely to use affected OpenSSL libraries
Cloud High Most likely to use affected OpenSSL libraries

Figure 2: SSL site verticals generally at risk

 

F5 ADCs are a Heartbleed countermeasure

Let’s get to the good news. There are three ways that F5 BIG-IP devices or software can be used as a countermeasure for Heartbleed.

First: Normal SSL profiles already protect against Heartbleed

The first defense is via the native SSL termination ability of the BIG-IP platform’s SSL profiles. The vast majority of sites using BIG-IP Local Traffic Manager (LTM) to terminate SSL for their applications are already protected against Heartbleed. This is because the primary SSL engine within the F5 traffic management microkernel is our own highly optimized and hand-written code. Therefore, when the F5 platform is terminating SSL on behalf of a pool of servers, it is already providing the necessary protection to applications. These applications are what the Heartbleed researchers meant when they referred to “fortunate consumer sites” that were spared vulnerability—those whose businesses depend on application uptime and who have invested in SSL termination equipment (read: SSL-terminating load balancers) for capacity and provisioning.

 

Figure 3: How BIG-IP LTM protects against Heartbleed

Figure 3: How BIG-IP LTM protects against Heartbleed

 

Second: Hardware security modules provide cryptographic boundaries

The SSL keys that are likely safest are the high-value keys of the financial industry, the defense industry, and the certificate authorities. These organizations often keep their keys within a FIPS-140 Level 3 cryptographic boundary called a hardware security module (HSM) that keeps the keys safe from memory-cracking tools. Many such organizations use ADCs with an integrated HSM.

 

Figure 4: Network HSM architecture

Figure 4: Network HSM architecture

 

Interestingly, there’s a whole new network HSM architecture where SSL keys are stored within FIPS 140 cryptographic stores under centralized management. The ADC asks these devices to decrypt SSL session keys, but then performs the remainder of the SSL session cryptography themselves.

Third: F5 iRules protect the rest

An F5 ADC has something that no other ADC has: a fully programmable, data-plane scripting language. Called iRules, it is supported by the F5 DevCentral development community made up of over 100,000 active users.

For organizations that cannot use either of the two more conventional solutions for SSL termination described above, the third option is to use iRules to provide mitigation—without decrypting the SSL connections themselves.

Scenarios where a defense based on iRules might make sense include:

  • A pool of servers with a security policy restricting private keys to origin server hosts.
  • An ingress point for multi-tenant SSL sites (using SNI and different keys).
  • A virtual ADC fronting a pool of virtualized SSL sites.

For these cases, F5 wrote two iRules to mitigate the Heartbleed vulnerability. The problem space is a fascinating mix of false-positive avoidance, performance assurance, and security, which must all be balanced within a single rule that cannot inspect the plaintext.

The first iRule stops any attempt by a client to send a heartbeat request. Since very few legitimate clients send heartbeats, this iRule will stop any malicious clients and prevent the attack from reaching your servers behind BIG-IP.

A second iRule blocks the server from sending any large heartbeat responses that may contain portions of your server’s memory.

If neither of these iRules suffice, an organization can develop its own. It happens every day. That’s the power of iRules and the DevCentral community.

What about the cloud?

The savvy reader may have realized that cloud computing has its own Heartbleed threat profile. This is true, with the intensity of the threat varying by the specific cloud deployment situation.

 

A typical LAMP cloud site: A typical cloud site contains instances of a Linux distribution running Apache, MySQL, and PhP (a combination commonly known as LAMP). Given that cloud adoption is a relatively recent phenomenon that overlaps with the introduction of the Heartbleed vulnerability two years ago, these cloud LAMP sites incur the highest risk.

A cloud with F5 ADC hardware: Many F5 customers use our hardware platform to front their cloud instances. They achieve significantly higher densities with an F5 ADC merging TCP connections, caching common objects, and, of course, offloading expensive hardware cryptographic operations. Where F5 is terminating the SSL, those customers are already protected. If you’re one of them, you should simply make sure that none of the virtual servers are passing HTTPS without decrypting it first. (See below).

An F5 virtual ADC: In fully virtualized clouds, even the F5 modules are virtual instances. Without the underlying cryptographic hardware offload taking place, there may be less incentive to have the F5 module terminate the SSL for HTTPS servers. The Heartbleed risk is therefore higher than with the hardware deployment in the previous case. The F5 platform can still provide protection, however, because the software implementation of the virtual ADC’s native SSL stack is also not vulnerable to Heartbleed and therefore provides a defense.

Next Steps

Existing F5 customers can basically read a single solution to double-check the health of their F5 devices and sleep tight knowing that not only are they safe now, but their applications have been resistant to Heartbleed for the last two years. If you need help, click Contact F5 to be connected to your F5 account representative.

If you are new to F5, we invite you to contact F5 to learn how you can protect your business from current and future threats.

Contact F5

 

Conclusion

American computer scientist Gerald Weinberg once said, "If builders built buildings the way programmers wrote programs, the first woodpecker to come along would destroy civilization."

Heartbleed is one of those woodpeckers.

The good news is that the F5 BIG-IP devices and virtual instances already spread throughout the Internet can defend the HTTPS applications they serve. Administrators can verify that defense and then work with their security teams to upgrade systems at their own pace. And those without protection can get it with a simple call to F5 or an F5 trial edition.

 

 

*If you are doing SSL termination on the LTM, you are protected unless you have moved off the secure F5 SSL stack by changing the default ciphers to COMPAT on 11.5.0 or 11.5.1. We have determined this impacts a very small portion of F5 customers.

If you are using 11.5.0 or 11.5.1 and exposed your management interface to the Internet, you are vulnerable. OpenSSL 1.0.1 is used for the BIG-IP Management interface. F5 does not recommend this configuration.

Questions about OpenSSL Heartbleed? Ask the F5 Community

 

 

F5 Networks has validated that all of its customer-accessible websites are safe from the OpenSSL vulnerability known as Heartbleed. Visitors who access and/or log on to any F5 web property should have complete confidence that their online activity is safe and secure.

While no specific action is necessary, F5 takes this opportunity to recommend that all users follow generally accepted best practices for resetting passwords regularly.